10th June 1936

Author MC Beaton is born

Marion Chesney was born in Glasgow and made a name for herself after the publication of her first novel in 1979. Besides Marion Chesney, she was also published as Ann Fairfax, Sarah Chester, Charlotte Ward and, most notably, MC Beaton, among others. When she married in 1969, she took her husband’s name, Gibbons, in a personal capacity.

Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth

As MC Beaton, she created two notable characters: Agatha Raisin, who appeared in 31 novels and several short stories, and Hamish Macbeth, who first appeared in Death of a Gossip in 1985, and 35 other books. The Hamish Macbeth series, set in a fictional town in the Highlands, was made into a television series by BBC Scotland, with Robert Carlyle in the title role.

Beaton moved to the United States and, upon her return, settled in England, where she died in December 2019, aged 83. In her obituary, published on 6 January 2020, the Guardian noted that “at a crime-writing festival in Reading in 2010 Chesney Gibbons told a shocked but amused audience in no uncertain terms that Carlyle had been miscast [as Hamish Macbeth] – as he was a Lowland Scot whereas Macbeth was a Highlander.”



Other events that occured in June

FREE Scotland history newsletter

Don't miss our weekly update on Scotland's fascinating history. We promise never to sell your data to anyone else, and there's a super-easy unsubscribe link on the bottom of each email so you can leave whenever you want.